Skip Navigation Links.

Governing Council Bios

Ms. Manon Blais (Student)
No Biography Available
Mr. Jerry Boyes 
No Biography Available
Ms. Becky Cianflone
Becky Cianflone is a passionate new resident of northern Manitoba. Having grown up in a small Metis commercial fishing community on Lake Winnipeg, Becky understands the importance of community and the power of rural and northern people.
As a student, she was elected twice to leadership roles with the Red River College Students' Association. Later, as a chamber of commerce manager, Becky discovered a passion for supporting entrepreneurship, innovation and collaboration. This led to a career with Community Futures and eventually, the position of manager for Community Futures Greenstone, based in Flin Flon.
Becky was instrumental in founding the Infusion Entrepreneurship Conference, which recently won a Provincial Community Futures Innovation and Excellence Award. Under her direction, Greenstone also launched the BizKidz Program, to develop entrepreneurial skills and creative thinking in youth.
Becky is also involved with the Flin Flon and District Chamber of Commerce, Northern Manitoba Tourism Steering Committee, and chairs the Enterprise Joint Action Group for the Look North Strategy. Along with husband Tony and their two small children, Becky shares an enthusiasm for the outdoors, and you can often find her quadding or ice fishing.
Ms. Tracey Como
Tracey is a Metis woman who hails from Cranberry Portage, MB.  She is the Director of the Metis Employment & Training department of the Manitoba Metis Federation and has 20+ years of experience working in the field of employment & training.  She has dedicated her career to the advancement of the Metis Nation and its people and is a strong advocate for northern prosperity, growth and development.
Ms. Laverne Constant (Student)
No Biography available.  
Mr. Edwin Jebb, Chancellor
A member of the Opaskwayak Cree Nation (OCN), Edwin Jebb was one of the first Aboriginal graduates of the University of Manitoba.  Edwin is retired from the Opaskwayak Education Authority where he spent 19 years heading OCN's school system, developing education programs and promoting healthy lifestyles for Manitoba's First Nations people.  An active volunteer in his community, Edwin was a member of the implementation team tasked with developing the University College of the North.  Edwin has received numerous awards throughout his career including the Brandon University's Teacher Education Program Meritorious Service Award, the Frontier School Division Award and was named to the Order of Manitoba in 2000. Edwin was installed as the University College of the North's second Chancellor in June 2011.
Mr. Doug Lauvstad, UCN President & Vice-Chancellor
No Biography available.
Ms. Kim Laycock
No Biography available.
Ms. Linda Markus
Linda Markus is an experienced educator with over 30 years' experience in the Northern Manitoba public-school system.  She has additional experience in the pre-school and post-secondary fields.  Linda holds degrees from Brandon University and University of Maitoba, including a Master's Degree in Education with a focus on Special Education, Adolescent Literacy and Program Administration.  While raising her two children, as a single-parent, she completed her Bachelor's Degtree in Education through BUNTEP, graduating with "Greatest Distinction".  Linda also holds a Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Education, A Post-Baccalaureate Certificate in Education, a Manitoba Special Education Coordintor's Certificate and a Manitoba Administrator's Certificate.
Linda has extensive professional experience in Student Services Leadership, Human Resource Management, Financial Management & Grant Allocation, Professional Development Delivery, Strategic Planning and Reporting, Policy & Legislation, Public Relations and Communication, Program Coordination, Public School and Student Services Administration and Curriculum Development.  Linda is an advocate for Inclusive Educational Practices, including Indigenous Perspectives, Cross-Cultural and Anti-Racist Education, and Universal Design for Learning.
Linda is a past president of the Thompson Chamber of Commerce and remains active with both the Thompson Chamber and The Pas Chamber, an supports advocacy efforts of the Manitoba Chambers of Commerce.  She is n entrepreneur with a keen interest in the provision of housing.  Linda was raised on a family farm in the Carrot River Valley in the RM of Kelsey and is a trong advocate for agriculture and food security in our region.  Linda enjoys spending qulity time with family, motorcycle touring and attending music festivals.
Mr. Cam Mateika, Chair
Cam Mateika is the director of research and technology for the Swan valley School Division and the Vice-Principal of the Swan Valley Regional Secondary School.  He holds a Bachelor of Education, a Post-Baccalaureate Degree in Education, a Master of Science in Information Systems and a PhD in Information Systems.  He is also Co-Chair of the Northern Technical Vocational Consortium, which helps develop new opportunities in training from Flin Flon to Swan River
Mr. Alfred McDonald
Alfred McDonald grew up in The Pas, Manitoba.  He is a visible minority of Euratian decent.  Alfred graduated from The Pas Collegiate Institute with the Governor General's Medal and attended the Unviersity of Manitoba graduating with degrees in Science and Education.
Alfred is a qualified educator with 45 years of experience in Northern Manitoba.  He has been a teacher, assistant principal, principal, department head and Dean.  He has been employed at Margaret Barbour Collegiate Institute, the Northern Manitoba Vocational Center (Keewatin Community College), Iskonekun School on Opaskwayak Cree Nation, and the University College of the North.
Alfred retired as dean of Access from the University College of the North in 2009.  He has been employed on a contract basis following retirement, teaching Essential Skills, Pre-Apprenticeship and Apprenticeship Programs in various communities in Northern Manitoba.
Alfred is active in his community and is currently Vice-Chair of The Pas Health Complex Foundation Inc., VP of The Pas Historic Society and Secretary of The Pas Elks Lodge #135.  He served 20 years as Chairman of the local Sponsors Committee of 303 The Pas Elds Royal Canadian Air Cadet Squadron, a past two term member of the Board of Governors of the University of Manitoba, and past two term member of the Norman Regional Health Authority Board.  Alfred has always been an advocate for the advancement of education in Northern Manitoba and has served on many local and provinical education committees.
Mr. Ken Munro 
No Biography available.
Mr. Rod Nabess
No Biography Available
Mr. Don Nisbit
No Biography Available
Elder Stella Neff 
No Biography available. 
Dr. Selvin Peter
No Biography Available
Ms. Edith Sexsmith
Edith Sexsmith hails from the RM of Kelsey just outside The Pas, where she was born and raised in a large farm family.  Edith works full-time for the Northern Health Region and has a background in public accounting which she often draws upon for her role on the Finance Committee of the UCN Governing Council.  She is also a trustee for the Kelsey School Division and a proponent of community involvement.  At home Edith and her husband operate a small but busy mixed farm and were recently rewarded with a Manitoba Farm Family of the YEar designation.  Since being appointed to the Governing Council in 2017, Edith has worked to contribute to UCN's role as a valued stakeholder in community development. 
Elder Albert Tait
No Biography available.
Mrs. Dayna Waring
No Biography available. 
  • The Pas Campus Box 3000, 436 - 7th Street East, The Pas, MB R9A 1M7 Telephone: (204) 627-8500 / Toll Free: (866) 627-8500
  • Thompson Campus 55 UCN Drive, Thompson, MB R8N 1L7 Telephone: (204) 677-6450 / Toll Free: (866) 677-6450
© University College of the North (UCN)